Beginner's Guide to Schema Design: Working Thread

Hi All,

Per the post at Best Place for a Beginner to Learn about Schema Design, I’m going to take a whack at a “Beginner’s Guide to Graph Database Schema Design”. As I’m a relative beginner myself, when possible I’d like some quick feedback from the experts on this forum regarding the correctness or incorrectness of the below points. Having these solid points nailed down will help me make sure I’m going in the right direction with the guide.

Introduction to Graph Database Schema Design

Triples are the building blocks of graphs

1. Subject (Must be an IRI)
  2. Predicate (Must be an IRI)
  3. Object (Can be either an IRI or a literal)
  4. Label
    4.1.The addition of a fourth attribute – label – provides a way to indicate that a given triple is part of a subgraph. Triples with a label added are called quads.

A subject or object IRI should…

1. Identify a single node/entity/vertex within a graph
  2. Be unique within the graph (only one instance for a given IRI)
  3. Be self-describing
    i. To the extent possible. Avoid using UUID if human-readable label can be used.

A predicate IRI should…

1. Identify a unique type of relationship within the graph
    1.1 IRI can be used for more than one relationship instance
  2. Be self describing
    2.1 Use of a UUID never makes sense for a predicate

Find all the quads for a given subject/user in Golang?

“Blank nodes” are also possible (like _:n123 ). But in contrast to IRI they are local to file and are not persistent. Their only purpose is to distinguish between other nameless nodes in the same file. A good example might be a geo-coordinates pair. It has no IRI itself, only a link from some other IRI and to separate latitude/longitude values:

<home> <at> _:n123 .
_:n123 <lat> "54.32" .
_:n123 <long> "12.34" .